So I’ve let a few months lapse by since I’ve really written a post. I threw a little thing up about the passing of Bettie Page, of course, but that simply needed doing. So I’ve decided to post something new here. I’m a bit apprehensive about doing this, but I’m posting a few songs I wrote recently. As some of you who are friends, and others of you who’ve followed the random postings on this blog over the years may know, for a period of time there I played bass in a band with a couple friends. We were called Slazenger 7. Unfortunately, the band has sort of stopped playing. We haven’t broken up or anything, we’ve just stopped playing. It’s a fine line of difference. Anyway, in the time since we’ve been inactive, I’ve come up with a few basslines that I thought were mildly interesting. So I did what I could to fine-tune them into actual songs, then I used GarageBand on my iMac to record them, add drum loops, more suplemental layers of live bass, and my own vocals. So the result is that now I’ve got three relatively complete songs, that I don’t know what to do with. So, rather than having them languish away on my own iTunes, I thought I’d share them with whoever stumbles upon this page. Since these aren’t actual Slazenger 7 songs, I’ve been labeling the artist as Slazenger 7.5. So I guess Slazenger 7.5 is just me.

Keep in mind that there are no guitars on these songs at all, and they’re recorded with the intention of adding guitars at some point. Of course, since I don’t play the guitar, I can’t do that. I’ve got an old friend whom I’m hoping will do the job at some point, however.

So, if you’re so inclined, I invite you to take a listen to the first of these songs. It’s titled “I Don’t Care Anymore” and you can give it a listen by clicking on the link below. I’d be interested in hearing some thoughts on it, as well. I’ve gone ahead and included lyrics below each link. That way you can sing along, too! The songs are listed in order beginning with the most recently recorded.

(Each link should open a new window taking you to a page the features the respective song. You should see something that says: “Play: Click here.” So just go ahead and click there. Thanks.)

I Don’t Care Anymore

The song ended just as his car began to sputter.
So he began to mutter.
He’s out of gas so far away from anywhere.
So he began to mutter.

CHORUS
This sucks I don’t care anymore.
Even karma should be good one time out of four
It’s not just mine but your life too that I abhor
I don’t look forward to what else is in store.

Things got worse when his car caught fire.
That’s right. It caught fire.
He just laughed and watched the smoke fly up to the sky.
It caught fire.

He reached into his inside pocket where he found a pen.
He found a pen.
He wrote down some thoughts that would be his goodbye note.
He found a pen.

CHORUS
This sucks I don’t care anymore.
Even karma should be good one time out of four
It’s not just mine but your life too that I abhor
I don’t look forward to what else is in store.

Clever Cleavage

Put your fingers over my eyes
And I’ll know that you’ll mesmerize
Never again try to disguise
Thoughts leading up to our final goodbyes

CHORUS
Just show your clever cleavage in the face of disaster.
Show your clever cleavage to get what you’re after.
Show your clever cleavage and be my master.
When life gives you questions clever cleavage is the answer.

See me sitting on top of the stairs
Hear me spitting out all of my cares
See me walking right out the door
Hear me say nothing no more

See me pick at that scab.
Hear me flag down that cab.

Its door is open and when I get in
A new beginning is about to begin
The cab is checkered and so is our past
And you can’t king me if we aren’t meant to last.

CHORUS
Just show your clever cleavage in the face of disaster.
Show your clever cleavage to get what you’re after.
Show your clever cleavage and you’ll be my master.
When life gives you questions clever cleavage is the answer.

It’s not about how you know (what I do)
It’s all about how you show (that you’re true)
It’s probably all gonna blow (up on you)
So just forget it (I love you)

Fingerlips
So this is the first song I ever did on my own. The lyrics were taken from a pile of songs I’d started writing but never came up with melodies for. So it’s a hodgepodge of different things that may or may not make any sense together. But lyrics aren’t always important. The important thing is the quality and the intensity of the psychedelic intoxicant that you’re enjoying while listening to the song.

Eeny meeny miney mo.
Harry Ashwater’s at the show.
Inky, Blinky, Dinky, Do.
Lick the ashes from the flue.
Come one, come one come all.
Enjoy the night before the fall.

Chorus
Everytime I kiss your lips I get goosebumps through my fingertips.
Everytime I kiss your lips I get goosebumps right through my fingertips.
Everytime I kiss your lips I get those goosebumps through my fingertips.
Everytime I kiss your lips I get goosebumps through my fingertips.

(spoken)
I’ve never been intentionally walked.
I’ve never been unwittingly stalked.
I’ve never seen a pitcher point out that he balked.
And when I die, I wonder if my twisted body will be chalked.

But that is why you can’t assume the double play.
That is why all the heroes have packed up, gone away.
It’s probably why I like Dr. Seuess more than Monet.
But it won’t fix my raging case of immaculate disarray.

Chorus
Everytime I kiss your lips I get goosebumps through my fingertips.
Everytime I kiss your lips I get goosebumps right through my fingertips.
Everytime I kiss your lips I get goosebumps through my fingertips.
Everytime I kiss your lips I get goosebumps through my fingertips.

Summer sun and winter cold.
Springtime rain and autumn mold.
Just like life, these things grow old.
Unless I’m dreaming, I struck gold.
Once or twice, so I’ve been told.
If I may be so very bold,
She’d like to have my hand to hold.
Shall I give it?
I suppose.

Chorus

Tuesday’s blues and Wednesday’s clues,
Thursday’s views are Friday’s news.
The weekend cruise with pretty sweet views,
Make us think about what choose.
But Monday’s dues from the abuse,
Makes us refuse to wait for cues.
Unless we lose our point of views,
We’re all gonna, gonna lose.

Chorus

One thought on “My First Solo Musical Project (Behind the Music – Slazenger 7.5)

Leave a Reply

