So I haven’t written in a little while. So what. Neither have you, have you?

So I’ve recently rediscovered three classic singles that I think many of us who listen to any sort of Classic Rock station will know, recognize, and appreciate. But I also have to believe that they’re three of the most underrated songs in quite some time. I’ll link to them below as I write about them. Go and listen, one at a time. Listen and read. Listen then read. Whatever you want. But however you hear them, just be sure to let the memories flood back from the deepest recesses of your subconscious. You’ve heard these songs before. You’ll hear these songs again. But from now on, you’ll notice these songs.

Follow the links below to hear each respective artist’s song. If necessary, click on the name of the song within the page’s music player. Then just allow yourself to listen to the songs.

First:
“No Time to Lose” by The Tarney-Spencer Band

I don’t know what it is about this song, but it’s been completely overlooked by filmmakers and soundtrack compiler guys. There needs to be a movie set in the early 80’s that’s the equivalent of something like Dazed and Confused. A film like Breakfast Club doesn’t qualify because it was actually made in the early 80’s. We need a film made now that looks back at the early 80’s in the way that Dazed and Confused looked back at the mid-to-late70’s (it was actually set in 1976, our country’s bicentennial). And this song needs to be part of that film. I will say that a film like Napoleon Dynamite comes close to capturing the mood I’m looking for. Except for the fact that the movie is essentially set in 2003 Idaho. However, the props, costumes, songs, and overall manner of the characters are parachronisms. Within the context of Napoleon Dynamite I sort of see them as parodies of the past placed in the future so as to parody the present. Make sense? Never mind. What’s important is that we get our authentic 80’s movie made today. And this song should be in it. In fact, “No Time to Lose” will be the name of the movie and the first song heard in the film. And to top it all off, Anne and Nancy Wilson of Heart will perform their own cover version of this song over the closing credits. This is significant because their successful mid-80’s comeback (not to mention Nancy Wilson’s chic status as the rocker wife of journalist/author/screenwriter/filmmaker Cameron Crowe. In fact, I suppose he’s sort of the logical choice to write and/or direct a film like this. But I feel like if he did that he’d simply be redoing Almost Famous with a Molly Ringwald feel. Anyway, “No Time to Lose” by the Tarney-Spencer Band. Listen and enjoy.

Second
“Rip Her to Shreds” by Blondie

Although this song was first released in 1976, I think I somehow remember it from being on one of their first Greatest Hits albums from like 1982. But I hadn’t heard it in more than 20 years until about four days ago. It came back to me in an instant and I felt like I was 10 years old again and listening to/overhearing my Uncle Jimmy’s records. (Without question one of my biggest musical influences growing up was my Uncle Jimmy’s vast record collection and his even seemingly vaster music knowledge). But nonetheless, this would make a great soundtrack song for such a movie.

Last:
“The Things We Do For Love” by 10cc

Again, this is a late ’70’s song. But this movie will cover the whole transition from Zeppelin into Pink Floyd into the Alan Parson’s Project into the Steve Miller Band’s 1982 hit “Abracadabra.” What more really needs to be said? This song fits. I see a scene where a romantic montage flowing seamlessly as “The Things We Do For Love” plays gingerly as an accompaniment to the frivolity the viewer enjoys even more as a result of hearing the song being played over that which they watch.

Maybe one of these days I’ll try to explain why I haven’t written in months. In fact, here you go:

I’m lazy.

There. Explained. Let’s move on.

Leave a Reply

