Chuck Norris for President?

So if you read the post right below this one, you know that I considered throwing my hat into the ring for consideration for the office of President of the United States. However, since posting that, two things have come to my attention that have now made me reconsider my desire to attain this position.

First of all, what’s with this having to be 35 years old to be president, crap? Theo Epstein was under 30 when that sumbitch took over the Red Sox, and I’d say he did alright. And that would be sort of like the equivilant of Ewan McGregor becoming the Prime Minister of England. Because Britain is to the United States what the Red Sox are to the Yankees. Of course, I’m referring to Ewan McGregor circa 1996, right after Trainspotting. Anyway, I just think that even though I’m 33, I should still be allowed to run. I mean, I’d turn 35 only like two weeks after the inauguration anyway. So what’s the big deal?

But really, the whole matter is moot because now that I’ve seen this presidential ad for former Arkansas govorner Mike Huckabee, I realize that there’s no way I could win. Take a look:

How cool is that? It’s actually genius, really. That alone will get the guy some votes. Which is fine. Frankly, I know nothing about the man other than that he’s a Republican governor from Arkansas. I’m just trying to remember if we’ve had any recent presidents that had any prior association with Arkansas. Hmm.

Anyway, thanks to my old friend Henry for sending that clip to my attention.

Oh, and as long as I’ve got everyone here, I’d like to go ahead and announce Because the World Is Round’s official presidential candidate endorsment: Barak Obama. So for those of you on the fence as far as your local primaries are concerned, I hope that this endorsement will officially sway your decision. Because the entire staff here at Because the World Is Round is nothing if not politically charged and fiercely informed on all situations political. It’s true! It dates all the way back to President Dewey!

Good night, America.
And good night, Ewan McGregor. Wherever you are.

5 thoughts on “Chuck Norris for President?

  1. debbie says:

    chuck norris was scary last night…..i keep asking myself why he changed sides with his wife half way through huckabees speech. i am sure other pundits have said this, but i haven’t heard it, i am now calling them chuckabee.

  2. Teratius says:

    Chuck Norris does not eat fresh mushrooms. Chuck Norris eats atomic mushrooms!

    America makes a lot of money with cultural industry. He is a good guy and believes in god!

    Teratius

Leave a Reply

