Now that was a baseball game last night. I don’t care who you’re rooting for, that was something to remember.

It’s funny, though, how many bandwagon fans there are springing up all over the place. Everywhere I go I see people walking with crisp new White Sox hats. Or t-shirts that are so new they still have the crease from the fold in the middle.

My friend Mike Beecher who lives in Houston told me a funny story. He’s a true White Sox fan and has been since I’ve known him. But here he is living in of all cities, Houston. So of course he’s surrounded by Astros fans, most of whom are jumping on the bandwagon. During the Astros/Cardinals series, a woman came up to him and told him that she was excited about that night’s game because Ausmus was pitching.

Brad Ausmus is a catcher.

People like this should be lined up with the people talking on a cell phone and waving at the camera. These people should then be bussed to a facility where they will be taunted and ridiculed for hours on end.

It’s okay to be excited for your local team, but don’t start talking shit unless you know what you’re talking about. It’s not that difficult.

But getting back to last night’s game, holy crap was that exciting. I’m not even necessarily pulling for the Sox, but I couldn’t help but be excited for them. I hope you didn’t miss it, because that was what postseason baseball is all about.

One thought on “And people wonder why I love baseball.

  1. I enjoy being at the occasional ballgame, usually once, maybe twice a year. You know, having a 8 dollar ballpark dog, 10 dollar beer, and trying to figure out what the heck is going on. Actually, being a “feregner” (according to Dubya), and not growing up with baseball, after over 8 years in this country I still don’t have a grasp on baseball. More so than football, but that’s another story.

    Bottom line, I tried, but have so far failed to like baseball. I’d definitely go see the Mariners rather than the Seahawks, but probably neither.

Leave a Reply

