I went to the Cub game last night with my family. It started out as a good game. Carlos Zambrano throwing for the Cubbies and Tim Hudson for the Braves. There was a double no-hitter through the first three innings. But then Zambrano gave up a couple runs. The Cubs got ‘em back though, tying the game at two until Kerry Wood gave up a two-run homer to Larry “Chipper” Jones. His second of the game. So the Cubs lost 4-2.

But the best part of the game was the fact that the Cubs were giving away limited edition Greg Maddux 300th win commemorative baseball gloves. I think they were giving away 300 of them. (See the connection? 300 wins for Maddux. 300 gloves. Clever, eh?) As you enter the ballpark an usher hands you a scratch card which tells you if you’re one of the lucky winners or not. I was not. None of us in our family were. We all scratched off losing cards.

BUT…there are a few second chance drawings that take place thoughout the game. Each card has a number on it and between certain innings they’ll have a drawing for another mitt. Unbelievably, my mom won. I can’t say I really remember ever seeing my mom don a baseball mitt, but you woulda thought she was Ozzie Smith once she went to pick up her winnings. It’s a shame a foul ball didn’t come our way, I’m pretty sure she woulda dove over several rows in order to get her new leather on that ball.

So I’m pretty sure she’s gonna make my dad go out and play catch with her now. Put some extra padding in your glove dad, Mom can bring the heat. Not to mention the two-and-half foot break she has on that curve.

I’m pretty sure if she’d come in to pitch in the eighth inning instead of Kerry Wood, Chipper Jones wouldn’t have put one in the seats.

Leave a Reply

