An Open Letter to Morning People

You wake up early and get a lot done in the mornings. It’s your lunch hour and you’re excited to have some free time for yourself. You went to bed at 10:30 last night and woke up feeling fresh and rejuvenated.

Good. Great. Grand.

Lemme tell you something: I was awake until at least 5:00 AM. As such, I just woke up. And no, I do not want to go to the library with you. No, I do not want to take a walk along a gravelly trail through some pretty trees. I also don’t want to check out the new sculpture in the cute little park near your apartment. I don’t feel like hitting the gym, or the movies, or getting some ice cream, or even going to the bar.

Well, maybe I feel like going to the bar.

But I it’s noon and I just woke up. I eat cereal at noon. I didn’t buy all these blueberries to put them on my yoga lessons.

Thank you.

P.S.
This is all subject to change. (Usually in concert with the weather.)

One thought on “An Open Letter to Morning People

  1. Incidentally, I wrote this backwards. I had written out this sentence in my notebook a few days ago. — “I didn’t buy all these blueberries to put them on my yoga lessons.” I re-read it again today and liked it but still didn’t have a context for it so I typed it out and started writing above it. An interesting exercise of my own design.

Leave a Reply

